Help! I deleted my activestate.yaml file :(

I am really struggling to get a Perl installation going with Tk.
A few years ago I used to use ppm and now I see the whole thing is different.
The state tool and the activatestate.com virtual environment thing.
I’m an experienced programmer but am really confused now.
Even experts need a step by step foolproof tutorial to get things going…

I have been trying this and trying that and had some success.
But in my valiant efforts I tried to clear out the cruft and ended up deleting the activestate.yaml file and now nothing will work at all.

What can I do?

Hey jonbj! Thanks for checking out the new state tool experience. So, couple questions:

• What version of Perl are you on?
  • What version of Tk are you trying to install?
  • What project are you working with on the platform?

One thing to try first, is inside the project folder, try ‘state pull’ to get the latest version of the yaml – but if that doesn’t work, let us know the above answers and we’ll dig a bit deeper. The solution depends on which version you’re working with.

1 Like

Thank you, Pete.
I tried ‘state pull’ - same error that says “Your activated environment appears to have been corrupted because the activestate.yaml file cannot be found anywhere.”

It also says that I could “deactivate your activated state”. I don’t know how to do that.

Perl 5.28.1
Tk 804.034
The project is TheCenter.
My userid is jonbj
There are several other projects on the account that show my flailing. I presume they can be deleted.,

It does seem that your new system has several advantages.
But better documentation and a step-by-step guide for Idiots (old Perl hackers like me :slight_smile: ) would be helpful.

Hi jonbj,

If you still know your project name, you can simply run state activate jonbj/TheCenter --path <the/path/to/your/project>. After that your activestate.yaml file should be recovered.

Thank you, MDrohman.
That did work and I am able to create a simple Tk program.