Need to compile 2001 perl script on new Windows computer

I have an ancient (2001) perl script that I use at work. I used Perl 5.14.3 a decade ago to compile this script for use on my new Windows 7 computer that still worked under my Windows 10 OS.

I had to get a brand new Windows 11 computer and am having fits trying to get Perl on this machine and my script to work.

My old set up was that I had the Perl executable and the actual script saved in a folder on my network drive. I would go in every month and click the Perl icon, it would run the script on my new file and done. No messing with the CMD window, no dealing with programming, just click and go.

I have tried to download the current ActiveState Perl (5.36, I guess it is). It is apparently installed in my
C:\Users[my user name]\AppData\Local\ActiveState\StateTool\release

But the bin folder is empty so I’m not convinced it IS installed. There’s no icon anywhere.

I can’t seem to get past this impasse.

I am NOT a programmer by any stretch of the imagination. I have a BA in comp sci from the early 1980s (PL/I was the programming language back then, also the joys of JCL; they were installing the new Linux machines the semester I graduated), I’ve written MSDos .bat files in my day, can tweak html files and my little perl script (that I got from another library a very long time ago), but, honestly, I can’t program my way out of a paper bag.

So, I REALLY need a lay-level how to get my perl script compiled on this computer. I don’t need to write any new scripts, I just need to compile THIS ONE so I can click and go every month.

Any assistance would be most appreciated. (Think of it as a public service.)

Thanks!
Barbara

Hi Barbara,

So, thanks for using ActiveState. So, now we don’t distribute Perl as a windows installer anymore to put it more in line with modern development practices. However, it should still be pretty straightforward to get it working.