Fonts on Text widget damaged?

On Linux Mint, Tcl/Tk switched from 8.6.1 32-Bit to 8.6.9 64-Bit. Found that font Times in Text widgets has changed so that geometric interaction with graphical UI becomes difficult. Is there any way to restore correct fonts from earlier Tcl/Tk versions?

Hi @wolfdieter,

Thanks for writing! How did you install Tcl/Tk? Was it using the ActiveState Platform or was it using Synaptic?

Cheers!
–zam

I downloaded ActiveTcl-8.6.9.8609.2-x86_64-linux-glibc-2.5-dcd3ff05d.tar.gz, unpacked it, then sudo install.sh

Afterwards I switched to /usr/bin and set symbolic link to wish and tclsh.

To see the difference try my little minesweeper where text items are perfectly centered to the tiles.

http://wolf-dieter-busch.de/html/Software/Spiele/Mine.htm

Compare screenshot, created with 8.6.1, with appearance on Canvas of 8.6.9.

Hallo @wolfdieter,

I’ll check with our support staff. I didn’t note any fonts in the Tcl bundles, but I’m no Tcl expert.

However, I do note that the font looks rather like Helvetica, rather than Times.

Perhaps the issue is that Times wasn’t being used and Helvetica was being used as a default? Just a guess.

TschĂĽĂź!
–zak

True. I found the difference on Times, later I found the difference on all fonts. Sorry you as a citizen of Switzerland know Helvetica by name better than all of us (including me, I come from Germany).

Gruetzi (hoffentlich stimmt die Schreibweise)

No worries! Half of debugging is having fresh eyes. :slight_smile:

Ich glaube schon. Ich bin noch nicht mutig genug, die schweizerdeutsche Rechtschreibung anzugehen.

TschĂĽĂź!
–zak

Die Schweizer mögen kein ß.

1 Like

Workaround