OS X 10.9 (Mavericks)

Mac OS X 10.9 (Mavericks)

Problems selecting /Library Tcl framework instead of /System/Library Tcl framework

My end goal is to be able to use TkTreeCtrl, and I read using ActiveStateTcl was the easiest option as both brew and macports don't show any available TkTree packages.

I've installed ActiveState Tcl 8.5 and 8.6 on OSX 10.9. When I run a script to print the Tcl patchlevel being used, it returns 8.5.18 which is the version located in /System/Library/Framework/Tcl.framework. How can I get it to select the ActiveStateTcl/Tk located in /Library/Framework/Tcl.framework?

Install a package on mac

Hi - I'm new to mac, and trying to install my tcl environment from Windows. For example, I want to install GetOpts package. teacup can't find it, so that's that.

On Windows, I can put a package into the tcl/library directory and it just works. Can I do this on mac? Where is the equivalent directory, where the packages are stored? I have tcl version 8.4, 8.5 and 8.6 installed (on top of each other), so I'm hoping this technique will work on the 8.5 directories.

Another approach might be to be able to use teacup to install local packages, but I can find no help on how to do this.

Installed ActiveTCL 8.6.4, python/tkinter still gets 8.5.9

I recently upgraded from Mac OS X 10.8/Mountain Lion to 10.9/Mavericks and then to 10.10/Yosemite. At the Mavericks update my python/tkinter app suddenly stop showing images - a known problem and I've installed ActiveTcl 8.6.4, as well as Python 2.7.10. I'm currently on Yosemite and Python 2.7.10.

When I run tclsh, I get this:

$ tclsh
% info patchlevel

But when I run my app, with these two lines at the beginning:

print "Python:", sys.version
print "Tcl revision:", tk.Tcl().eval('info patchlevel')

I get:

How does PIP work with 2 Python distributions in OSX?

Hi!

I'm having a hard time understanding the way `pip` is supposed to work when there's 2 Python distributions in the machine.

My setup: