OS X 10.7 (Lion)

Mac OS X 10.7 (Lion)

irb > require "tk" results in - called Tcl_FindHashEntry on deleted table Abort trap: 6

I am currently reading O'Reilly's Learning Ruby book (I am very new to Ruby and using the Terminal) and am trying to run one of the example programs that uses the Tk toolkit. I have downloaded and installed ActiveTcl 8.6.1. from the ActiveState site. When I try to require "tk" either in a program or irb> it causes the error 'called Tcl_FindHashEntry on deleted table Abort trap: 6' and the Problem Report below pops up. This may be a very simple fix, but I have spent a couple of days trying to solve and understand this problem with no luck.

editing perl file on Mac OS X

When I edit a perl file on my Mac OS X Lion system with TextEdit, I get an error “Unrecognized character \xE2” from perl.
Which editor(s) can I, should I use on Mac OX X?

Newbie stuck loading AS Python on OS X

Hello Friends:

I'm new to Python and ActiveState Python. I have installed AS Python on my OS X 10.7.5 Mac.
I open a terminal window and type python

This is what I get:

Miguel-Rezniceks-Mac-Pro:~ migs$ python
Python 2.7.1 (r271:86832, Jul 31 2011, 19:30:53)
[GCC 4.2.1 (Based on Apple Inc. build 5658) (LLVM build 2335.15.00)] on darwin
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.

Can someone lead me step by step to getting AS python to load?

Thanks in advance,

Miguel Reznicek

Can't find Bio::Tools::Run::Phylo::Phylip::consense module using ppm

A script I am compiling with PerlApp 9.2.1 and ActivePerl version requires the module Bio::Tools::Run::Phylo::Phylip::consense. Using PPM 4.17 I cannot find any part of Bio::Tools::Run::Phylo. In addition to the basic ActiveState PAckage Repository I have added the Bioperl, the log4perl and the Bioperl-run repositories.

The module I need is on CPAN. IS there something else I need to do to download it via ppm, or do I need to download and install it manually?

Thanks for your help.

Bary Hall