Getting Code Intelligence to work for Python 2.3 in Komodo Edit 6.1.3

Posted by ap123 on 2012-01-15 21:57
Forums: Komodo support | OS: OS X

I'm new to programming, so hopefully the answer is very obvious. I installed Komodo Edit 6.1.3 to use with Python 2.3. When using the editor, it does not auto-complete, etc. In Preferences, I have checked the boxes that should enable it. Is there something I need to download or link in order to enable this function? Feel free to be as pedantic as you want in answering. Thanks!

cgchoffman
ActiveState Staff
Mon, 2012-01-16 11:13

Morning Ap,

Did you configure Komodo to use your Python installs interpreter?

From your Start Page click Check Conifiguration. If you haven't configured anything you'll see a lot of red X's.

If there is a red X beside Python, click the gear to it's right to open Preferences then Languages->Python.

Under Use this interpreter is should say Find on Path. You can browse and find the python interpreter. The location of this file depends on what platform you're on.

-Carey

ap123 | Mon, 2012-01-16 18:10

Thanks a lot, Carey. I should have mentioned, however, that I'm using a Mac (OSX Lion). Is the "Check Configuration" option you mentioned available in the Mac version? I could not find it.
Also, I previously downloaded IDLE, which was the interpreter I had been using. That does not work when I select it from within preferences. Can you please point me in the right direction. Should I install a different interpreter, or is there a way to get the IDLE interpreter to work with Komodo?
-Andrew

cgchoffman
ActiveState Staff
Tue, 2012-01-17 10:52

Yes the Check Configuration is in Mac OSX. If you can't find the start page Click View->Start Page.

That isn't totally necessary though. You can also get to Preferences by clicking Komodo->Preferences->Languages->Python

IDLE is the Python editor that ships with Python:
http://wiki.python.org/moin/IDLE